Search

New: 5 years warranty on all RECARO Gaming chairs (Exclusive in RECARO Gaming Webshop) Learn more

Menu Close

How to deduct your office chair from taxes

The office chair is one of the most important work tools in the company. Every day we take a seat on the cushion to carry out our upcoming tasks. High-quality office chairs – such as theRECARO Aer andRECARO Exo – are designed with ergonomics in mind. They ensure back health and protect the muscular and bone system. Fortunately, expenses for office furniture and work equipment are tax-deductible. We'll show you how this works in the following article.

Deduct office chair as a self-employed person, freelancer or tradesman

The number of self-employed people, tradespeople and freelancers is constantly increasing in Germany. Professional independence and the freedom to shape their working life as they see fit is attractive to many people. In addition, life as a self-employed person has other advantages: The costs invested in office and business equipment can usually be claimed from the tax office.

This also applies to the office chair, which you can deduct as a business expense as a self-employed person. Section 4 (4) EStG stipulates that purchases used for business purposes can be deducted from tax and thus claimed as a profit reduction

Depreciation as a low-value asset (GWG)

If your chair for the office or home office costs less than €1000 net, it can be claimed directly as a low-value asset (GWG). So instead of having to depreciate the purchase over several years, as is usually the case, you can opt for the immediate deduction as a business expense. This means that the acquisition costs in the year of acquisition are considered to be operating expenses in full and thus reduce profits. 


In order to be considered a GWG, the acquisition must be movable, depreciable and independently usable . So your new office chair is perfect for this.

Amortization over the useful life

If the price of the office or home office chair is over €1000 net, the acquisition costs must be depreciated over the useful life as usual. A depreciation period of 13 years applies to furniture. 

Example (as of April 2024):

ProductE.g. net purchase price in € Amortization period
RECARO Aer Midnight Black (Basic Configuration)335,29Immediate depreciation possible (GWG)
RECARO Aer Midnight Black (Full Configuration)452,94Immediate depreciation possible (GWG)
RECARO Exo Pure Black839,50Immediate depreciation possible (GWG)
RECARO Exo FX Iron Grey923,53Immediate depreciation possible (GWG)
RECARO Exo Platinum Black & White1091,6013 years

As an employee

Even as an employee, work equipment, i.e. purchases that you need to carry out your professional duties, can be claimed for tax purposes. The equipment for your home office is also part of this - including your new office chair. Such purchases are recorded as income-related expenses

In what amount may office furniture be deducted?

In Germany, there are three different levels of use for office furniture, which determine the amount of tax deductible expenditure: 

  • Under 10% professional use - deduction not possible
  • 10% - 89% professional use - proportionate deduction possible
  • 90+ % professional use - Full deduction possible

It is also important to know that German employees are entitled to annual gross income-related expenses of EUR 1,230. If this flat-rate allowance is not reached despite the expenditure on office furniture, the full amount can still be claimed. If the 1,230 euro mark is exceeded, it is possible to declare the higher amount in the tax return.

Where do I enter office furniture on my tax return?

If you would like to deduct your office chair from your taxes, you will first need your employer's income tax certificate. The document contains all the necessary data that you need to enter in your annual tax return. The income-related expenses can be entered in Annex N, which deals with your salary and business expenses.

Annex N can be selected directly in the Elster portal using the Navigator. The income-related expenses are noted from line 31 onwards. If you use the paper form, you do not have to fill in the fields marked in green. This data is already known to the tax office. To be sure whether and how you can claim your office chair for tax purposes, it is best to speak to a tax advisor.

Summary: Office chair tax deductible

  • Self-employed persons can claim the office chair as a business expense
  • Employees can deduct the chair from their tax bill as income-related expenses if they use the chair in their home office at least 10% for business purposes. 
  • The proportion of professional use determines the deductible proportion of the acquisition costs. 
  • Note the flat-rate income-related expense allowance of € 1,230 gross.
  • Office furniture is a long-term purchase (13 years of depreciation). Therefore, the focus should be on quality. Discover the high-quality chairs from RECARO for home office and gaming: RECARO Aer and RECARO Exo.  

Disclaimer:
The content described above does not constitute legal advice. All information is provided without guarantee of accuracy or completeness. It is best to speak to a professional tax advisor if you are planning to deduct your office chair from your taxes.

RECARO EXO

The best
backing for
your top performAnce

Suche

Neu: 5 Jahre Garantie auf alle RECARO Gaming Stühle (Exklusiv im RECARO Gaming Webshop) Mehr erfahren

Menu Close

So setzt du deinen Bürostuhl von der Steuer ab

Der Bürostuhl gehört zu den wichtigsten Arbeitsmitteln im Unternehmen. Tagtäglich nehmen wir auf dem Polster Platz, um unsere anstehenden Aufgaben zu verrichten. Hochwertige Bürostühle – wie der RECARO Aer und RECARO Exo – sind nach ergonomischen Gesichtspunkten konzipiert. Sie stellen die Rückengesundheit sicher und schonen den Muskel- und Knochenapparat. Glücklicherweise lassen sich die Ausgaben für Büromöbel und Arbeitsmittel von der Steuer absetzen. Wie das funktioniert, zeigen wir dir im folgenden Artikel.

Bürostuhl als Selbstständiger, Freiberufler oder Gewerbetreibender absetzen

Die Zahl der Selbstständigen, Gewerbetreibenden und Freiberuflern steigt in Deutschland immer mehr an. Die berufliche Unabhängigkeit und die Freiheit, das Arbeitsleben nach dem eigenen Belieben zu gestalten, ist für viele Menschen attraktiv. Darüber hinaus hat das Leben als Selbstständiger noch weitere Vorteile: Die Kosten, die in die Büro- und Geschäftsausstattung investiert wurden, können meistens beim Finanzamt geltend gemacht werden.

Das gilt auch für den Bürostuhl, den du als Selbstständiger als Betriebsausgabe absetzen kannst. In § 4 Abs. 4 EStG ist festgelegt, dass beruflich genutzte Anschaffungen von der Steuer abgesetzt und damit gewinnmindernd geltend gemacht werden können

Abschreibung als geringwertiges Wirtschaftsgut (GWG)

Kostet dein Stuhl fürs Büro oder Homeoffice netto weniger als 1000€, kann er direkt als geringwertiges Wirtschaftsgut (GWG) geltend gemacht werden. Statt die Anschaffung also wie sonst üblich, über mehrere Jahre hinweg abschreiben zu müssen, kannst du dich für den Sofortabzug als Betriebsausgabe entscheiden. Damit gelten die Anschaffungskosten im Jahr der Anschaffung vollständig als Betriebsausgabe und damit gewinnmindernd. 


Um als GWG gelten zu können, muss die Anschaffung beweglich, abnutzbar und selbstständig nutzbar sein. Dein neuer Bürostuhl eignet sich dafür also wunderbar.

Abschreibung über die Nutzungsdauer

Liegt der Preis für den Büro- oder Homeoffice-Stuhl über 1000€ netto, sind die Anschaffungskosten wie üblich über die Nutzungsdauer abzuschreiben. Für Möbel gilt dabei eine Abschreibungsdauer von 13 Jahren

Beispiel (Stand April 2024):

ProduktBsp. Netto-Anschaffungspreis in € Abschreibedauer
RECARO Aer Midnight Black (Basis-Konfiguration)335,29Sofortabschreibung möglich (GWG)
RECARO Aer Midnight Black (Voll ausgestattete Konfiguration)452,94Sofortabschreibung möglich (GWG)
RECARO Exo Pure Black839,50Sofortabschreibung möglich (GWG)
RECARO Exo FX Iron Grey923,53Sofortabschreibung möglich (GWG)
RECARO Exo Platinum Black & White1091,6013 Jahre

Als Arbeitnehmer

Auch als Arbeitnehmer können Arbeitsmittel, also Anschaffungen, die du benötigst, um deinen beruflichen Aufgaben nachzukommen, steuerlich geltend gemacht werden. Die Ausstattung für dein Home-Office ist ebenfalls Teil davon – dazu gehört auch dein neuer Bürostuhl. Verbucht werden derartige Anschaffungen als Werbungskosten

In welcher Höhe dürfen Büromöbel abgesetzt werden?

In Deutschland werden drei Nutzungsstufen der Büromöbel unterschieden, die bestimmen, in welcher Höhe die Ausgaben von der Steuer abgesetzt werden können: 

  • Unter 10% berufliche Nutzung – Absetzen nicht möglich
  • 10% – 89% berufliche Nutzung – Absetzen anteilig möglich
  • 90+ % berufliche Nutzung – Vollständiges Absetzen möglich

Es ist zudem wichtig zu wissen, dass dem deutschen Arbeitnehmer jährlich Werbungskosten in Höhe von 1.230 Euro brutto zugestanden werden. Wird diese Werbungskostenpauschale trotz der Ausgaben für Büromöbel nicht erreicht, kann dennoch die volle Summe beansprucht werden. Beim Überschreiten der 1.230-Euro-Marke ist es möglich, die höhere Summe in der Steuererklärung anzugeben.

Wo trage ich Büromöbel in der Steuererklärung ein?

Möchtest du deinen Bürostuhl von der Steuer absetzen, benötigst du zunächst die Lohnsteuerbescheinigung deines Arbeitgebers. Das Dokument enthält alle notwendigen Daten, die du in die jährliche Steuererklärung eintragen musst. Die Werbungskosten können in der Anlage N eingetragen werden, die sich mit deinem Gehalt und den betrieblichen Ausgaben auseinandersetzt.

Im Elster Portal kann die Anlage N direkt mittels Navigator ausgewählt werden. Die Werbungskosten werden ab Zeile 31 vermerkt. Greifst du auf das Papierformular zurück, musst du die grün markierten Felder nicht ausfüllen. Diese Daten sind dem Finanzamt bereits bekannt. Um sicherzugehen, ob und wie du deinen Bürostuhl steuerlich geltend machen kannst, sprich am besten mit einem Steuerberater.

Zusammenfassung: Bürostuhl von der Steuer absetzen

  • Selbstständige können den Bürostuhl als Betriebsausgabe geltend machen. 
  • Angestellte setzen den Stuhl über Werbungskosten von der Steuer ab, wenn sie den Stuhl im Home-Office zu mind. 10%  beruflich nutzen. 
  • Der Anteil der beruflichen Nutzung entscheidet über den absetzbaren Anteil der Anschaffungskosten. 
  • Werbungskostenpauschalbetrag von 1.230 € brutto beachten.
  • Büromöbel sind eine langfristige Anschaffung (13 Jahre Abschreibung). Daher sollte der Fokus auf Qualität gesetzt werden. Entdecke die hochwertigen Stühle von RECARO für Home-Office und Gaming: RECARO Aer und RECARO Exo.  

Disclaimer:
Die oben beschriebenen Inhalte stellen keine Rechtsberatung dar. Alle Informationen sind ohne Gewähr auf Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit. Sprich am besten mit einem professionellen Steuerberater, wenn du vorhast, deinen Bürostuhl von der Steuer abzusetzen.

RECARO EXO

Der beste
Rückhalt für
deine Top-PerformAnce